Blue Sky Dawn

Taken around 30 mins before sunrise at Cottesloe Beach 17mm ISO 100 45sec exposure. Should I remove the large cargo vessel dot on the horizon? It was so dark I had a hard time 1. getting the horizon straight and 2. focus levels.

Blue Sky Dawn

About Neal Pritchard

TImeless landscape photography prints by Neal Pritchard
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Blue Sky Dawn

  1. jamiepaterson1 says:

    Hi Neal,

    I just wanted to say that your work is nothing short of inspirational. Your POV on things is amazing!!!!!

    Jamie Paterson
    http://www.jamiepaterson.net

  2. Thx Jamie for your kind words. POV is something I find I work on the most when shooting.

  3. jamiepaterson1 says:

    Hi Neal,

    Well it certainly shows, there is no doubt about it. I wouldn’t hesitate to say that if some of your work was in a gallery I would certainly consider buying it.

    I’m guesing with the quality of your work you must do some research. Do you walk around during the day and see things you like and then attempt to take the photo down the track?

    Thanks,

    Jamie

  4. Yeah I pretty much size everything I see around me as a potential shoot. Most often I visit a location more than once to get an idea of what I would like to photograph, easier said than done with some locations though. I did have a good weekend in and around dunsborough the weekend of Christians course night. Marked off dozens of possible location shoots for future trips and managed to capture a few very nice images I am yet to post on the blog or flickr before my full site is completed shortly.

  5. jamiepaterson1 says:

    You can tell. Only great research provides consistent results like yours. Unfortunately, I don’t think its enough to just wake up in the morning and drive somewhere and hope that you get lucky.

  6. dylanfox says:

    Neil, this is a great photo! I also really like the sugarloaf photo which you mentioned at the course.
    Did you have any noise problems with this shot? I have a similar one from Busselton Jetty, but havent posted it yet cause of the noise.
    cheers

  7. dylanfox says:

    oh yeah do you want to exchange links? i can add you to my blog.

  8. Hi Dylan, I currently shoot with the Canon 5D with is amazing for its low or virtually no noise, ‘d go so far in say that it is better than the 1d mrkII series for lack of noise.

    I have not run any noise reduction software on any of my images. I have quite a few printed up 60 inches and have had no problems so far.

    Sure I’l add your blog link now.

  9. jamiepaterson1 says:

    Hi Neal,

    I agree the 5D is an awesome camera, its now been demoted to back up camera but its certainly been a brilliant camera. Both for my fashion work and landscape stuff.

    Jamie Paterson

  10. kirkhille says:

    Great shot Neal ,
    Love the simplicty of it and the color

  11. dylanfox says:

    Jamie was it you who got the 1Ds mkIII?
    I’m eventually looking to get a 5D, i should probably look for a good second hand one! how much do you guys reckon a second 5D would or should set me back?
    cheers

  12. Yes it was Jamie that just received his mrkIII. A secondhand 5D should set you back in the region of around $3000-$3500.

    Remembering that the mrkII is just around the crn so those prices may come down further.

    I have added your blog link as well.

  13. jamiepaterson1 says:

    Hi Dylan,

    Yes I got the 1Ds MkIII and I’m having to learn everything all over again. I’ve not been happy with the pics so far, so I’ve had to do the ultimate male sin and read the manual. You can buy a brand new 5D for $3350. Check it out at PRA.

    http://www.praimaging.com.au/d22-14-canon-eos-5d-body.html

    Anyone shooting in the metro area this weekend?

    Thanks,

    Jamie

  14. kirkhille says:

    Hey Dylan ,
    Dont know if you have seen this site but you can get a new Canon 5 D for around $2,800
    A few of my friends have ordered from this site and said it was fast and reliable .

    http://www.digitalrev.com/en/products.php?category_id=2&page=2

  15. thomasparkes says:

    Hi Neal,
    Great shot, I love the horizon, and the blues are awesome.
    Good luck witht he new site.

    Cheers Tom

Leave a Reply

