Natural Arch

Easily the hardest thing I have ever tried to photograph. I just wish this place was a little closer to home as I’d really like to give this area another go around one day soon.3 Image stitch

Natural Arch

About Neal Pritchard

TImeless landscape photography prints by Neal Pritchard
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Natural Arch

  1. Huge does not begin to describe this place, your in a virtually pitch black cave looking out at a hole that has white water pouring through.

    Although I do think that the more water that is coming through the harder to photograph, next time maybe Qld will not be so wet and I can make it up there a little earlier in the day. Its only 40ms inland from the gold coast and I figured a hr would be god to get me there. MISTAKE, it was raining al morning and the roads where very slow it took me near on 2 hrs to get there, but I did stop of twice to take shots on the way up of the valley, so maybe 75-90mins would of ben the actual drive time.

    I look forward to going back one day.

  2. dylanfox says:

    would it work better as an HDR?
    I’m yet to do an HDR, but I dont have photomatix anyway.

  3. Yeah it may work better with a HDR treatment, but for me I am yet to see a really god example of a hdr image that looks totally natural, at this stage I do not do any hdr.

    This image is just a 3 image blend with 2 stop increments between each one and even then I had to tried a few things t tone down the water exposure. The main problem I see is the amount of water at present going over the falls. Next time I hope thy is a little less.

  4. James says:

    Nah there is no way you would get that with HDR the dynamic range is huge. I’m guessing thats the Natural Arch in the Numbar Valley?

    I was there the weekend before christmas and boy it was difficult to photograph. The magic will come in the processing, though I think it will be a little on the dark side.

    Nice photos by the way.

Leave a Reply

