Adobe Photoshop Tip

While playing around with some images I took in Denmark last weekend I was trying to bring out some detail in the sky on one particular shot. Not wanting to always work in the tiff format I experimented a little more than usual in the raw format and found what maybe common knowledge to some but new to me. A way to bring out the sky detail without increasing noise or saturation and in the end found a little trick, opening the raw image in CS3 I went to the HSL panel and using the slider in the blue luminance moved it between -40 and -80, this changed the sky and brought out so much more detail I was expecting, all before I moved and saved it in the 16bit tiff, thats gotto be a god thing in the end.  

About Neal Pritchard

TImeless landscape photography prints by Neal Pritchard
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Adobe Photoshop Tip

  1. Dylan Fox says:

    that sounds good, but I still havent got a hold of CS3, so I cant try it!
    Sounds like a trick that would be very handy!
    Cheers

  2. Thats pretty much it Matt, I had some very light wispy clouds that really did not show up to well in the image ( they looked awesome through my sunnies though on the day) and after altering the blue luminance I brought out what I actually saw that day.

  3. thomasparkes says:

    I run adobe lightroom, pretty much the same tools and options as camera RAW, and with lightroom you can catalogue all your work with keywords, great from managing all yor CR2’s.

    Cheers Tom

  4. I have been thinking of about lightroom as it came up in again a couple of weeks back, i should download a trial and see if it helps with the workflow.

  5. James says:

    It will help with the database of your images, but it has the same controls as camera raw.

    The auto sync is great for panorama’s though and for quick dust removal on all your images from that shoot.

  6. kirkhille says:

    What software do you use to adjust your RAW files ?
    I just got the one the Camera came with Then I use it to open it into a 16bit tiff file into CS2 .

  7. Kirk I use the camera Raw that is built in with CS3.

Leave a Reply

