Cottesloe Beach

Went down to Cottesloe Beach earlier this week with Beau and Dylan and shot a couple of pics. There was just too many people there. Still not quite the angle I am happy with, but I think I am getting closer to what I would like to see. I guess its just a do-over …. 

 

4 image stitch taken at 40 mm

 

About Neal Pritchard

TImeless landscape photography prints by Neal Pritchard
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Cottesloe Beach

  1. beaumitchell says:

    Very nice, Neal. What exposure is each frame at? Looks like it must have been taken when you first arrived.

  2. Pretty much taken while you and Dylan where still on the grass area. I really only had like 5 mins to shoot before it became too bright and walkers joggers etc took over the area.

    From memory they where all in the 25-30 range at f/13 iso 100

  3. I’m pretty disappointed when I look at this image, the colors are there and it was the right time of day, I just needed to pay better attention to what I was doing and not rush it as I did. I should of moved to my right a few feet and slapped on the 70-200 f/2.8 lens and worked the area better.

    I guess thats part of the fun though looking to capture what you see and learning to do it in an effective way, I am just a little prev’d at myself after looking at this image I did not try harder.

  4. jamiepatersonphotography says:

    Hi Neal,

    I wouldn’t be too harsh on yourself, I think this works. The two lights lead me into the centre of the photo straight away. This then gets me to look at that very subtle colour of the clouds on the top left hand side. The lines in the sand are really cool as well.

    What would I like to see different? I’d like to see the cargo ships removed, I’d like to see the Freo orange lights removed as well.

    The only thing that you couldn’t fix on this that I wish I could see would be a bit more of the beach on the left.

    I think sometimes we are overly critical but then I guess we have to be to keep pushing further ahead.

    I showed some people your photo here in the office and they loved it.

    Two Thumbs Up!!!!

    Jamie Paterson

  5. Dave Catley says:

    If it was easy to get great shots then everyone would be doing it and where would we be then 🙂

    Anyway isn’t learning from our mistakes what makes us improve …

  6. Very true Dave, more annoyed I was a lazy than anything else.

    And there you hit the nail on the head Jamie, more beach. So Do-over … yet again.

  7. kirkhille says:

    I personally like the photo Neal ,
    The only thing I think if you had more beach on the left , love the colors .
    still a great shot
    I also rush my shots a lot as well instead of taking time to check my composition etc

  8. Dylan Fox says:

    Mate thats what often gets me out taking photos three times a day. I went out one morning came back with nothing, so i went out for nice mid day shots, got nothing, then went out for sunset and got something i was very happy with! Then the next morning i went back to the spot from the morning before and got what I wanted. It sure drives me! But I see where your coming from.
    For me having the lights on the groyne isn’t ideal. I know it can’t be changed, and it’s interrupted my pics before too.

    I still really like where this shot is going! I bet you will get it next time around! would it work from a slightly lower angle with the horizon lower?

    Keep up the great work mate!

  9. jamiepatersonphotography says:

    I guess the good thing is that its a great spot to spend some time. 🙂

  10. James says:

    What you may disapointed with others may be stoked to photograph.

    The thing I like about this shot is the different angle. There are a million shots looking at the indianna tea house from the hill or the groin, but this is looking the other way.

Leave a Reply

