Sunset Shadows

A 7 image stitch from last night. After a smog covered day it kinda cleared up late afternoon and a thunderstorm was rolling in from the ocean so with not much time to spare and a location not really scouted out I took off to the closest beach and managed to roll off a few shots. 

What I really like about this image and what I was trying to capture was the shadows on the beach right up close to the camera. I think I managed to capture what I saw, just shame about the horizon, if you look just below the sun and to the right you’ll see what I mean, I guess its back to the Scott Kelby books to find a solution. Oh and its shot at 40mm with my f/4 17-40 lens with a .9 and .6 lee stacked ND grads.

 

About Neal Pritchard

TImeless landscape photography prints by Neal Pritchard
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Sunset Shadows

  1. dmbkel41 says:

    wow. Breathtaking, really is it….

  2. dmbkel41 says:

    IT IS, im sorry……

  3. nice shot mate, did you use a pano head and pt gui or was this photoshop?

  4. kirkhille says:

    Nice shot Neal ,
    Love the sky in it and the foregrounds great , nice movment and nice job on the shadows on the foreground .
    Didnt notice the horizon at first not that bad , could just say its a big wave lol

  5. Yeah I guess I could try and explain it as a freakish large wave Kirk.

    Nope still no pano head Christian (boy do I have a story about that P***K Mathew at 360) Just the usual tripod head and CS3 at present. Still on the fence with PTGUi for me I can not se the difference between it and CS3, maybe I am just not looking in the right place. May have to sit down with a coffee with you one day and see what I can not in the benefits of PTGui over CS3. I thought I had worked out PTGUi was better at fine detail stitches over CS3 but now I am thinking I se no difference.

  6. That is a truly stunning shot, great work! I can see why you worked to get those lovely soft shadows in the sand they’re great! As for the horizon I would think that this is fixable in PTgui – you can add horizontal control points to the horizon in all photos and that tells the stitcher to keep the X coordinate the same for these points.

  7. That is a truly stunning shot, great work! I can see why you worked to get those lovely soft shadows in the sand they’re great! As for the horizon I would think that this is fixable in PTgui – you can add horizontal control points to the horizon in all photos and that tells the stitcher to keep the X coordinate the same for these points.

  8. James says:

    Nice shot, great skys last night. I was seeing the sunset on the way home from work and thinking Noooo!, because I had other family plans that I couldn’t get out of.

    You can fix the horizon easily by copying that strip next to the wave to a new layer, then put on a mask and use a soft edge brush to fix the sharp edges. you can also feather the selections, there’s plenty of ways to do it. Ping me an email if you need to know more.

    I think CS3 is great for stitching. That should be all you need. If you do want to buy another program, you should also look at Autopano pro. I have that and ptgui, but I prefer Autopano pro.

    I also used to use a free program called HUGIN, when I was using CS2 but now CS3 is here, there is no need for single layered panos.

    Enough ranting 😉

  9. Thanks Flemming, that may well be the answer I am not seeing with PTGUi

    Just had a quick look at your blog I really like that Mindil Beach at Dusk Panorama image. I will add your blog like to mine if thats cool with you?

    Cheers

  10. You’re more than welcome to link to my blog, I’ll add a link to yours as well!

    I’ve owned PTgui for a while so never tried stitching in CS3, I think PTgui is pure magic. Even the Mindil beach shot (shot handheld totally unconcentrated) PTgui could make something usable out of. I think there’s a trial version on the PTgui site?

  11. dylanfox says:

    Great shot mate!
    I get quite a lot of horizon problems with no pano head, but you can easily fix that up!
    What Flemming said sounds very useful about the horizon control points!

  12. Thanks for the the advice guys, I will give PTGUi another blast at this stitch using the control points.

  13. This is a good tutorial on how to use vertical and horizontal control points in PTgui: http://www.johnhpanos.com/levtut.htm

    Takes a bit of practice, most important bit is on the control points tab you need to display the same image in both left and right windows. Otherwise you can’t place these points. Also you need to optimize using the panotools dll, all explained in the tutorial.

  14. I think that is why sometimes PTGUi seems to work better other times it does not, I have not ben using the control points. I guess tonight it is tutorial time ….

  15. I went through the PTGUi tutorial last night and had one try and these control points (it was getting rather late) the software kinda screamed back at me something to the effect “hey dummy your control points are nuts just let the software work it ok or cancel I pressed ok and the image was pretty good. Going to try it out a bit more with a few different images before I pay to remove the ghost PTGui logo.

  16. It takes a lot of practice to get good at working with control points in PTgui but it’s worth it. PTgui is good at auto aligning and adding control points but for a perfect stitch you sometimes need to tweak control points yourself. But yeah lot’s of practice, while learning I did end up lot’s of times with images that were 90 or 180 degrees rotated suddenly and I just sat there swearing at the bloody thing 🙂

    Also, remember to optimize but before optimizing select the anchor image.

  17. Dylan Fox says:

    Flemming how did you get the Control points for the horizon that you were talking about?

  18. Dylan, try this tutorial (just use horizontal control points instead of vertical)

    http://www.johnhpanos.com/levtut.htm

    Follow it very carefully or it won’t work. Took me a few tries to get it right, you have to carefully read and follow every bit of the tutorial.

Leave a Reply

