Dunsborough Trip

Well just back from a flying visit to the south west, managed to get in 5 location shoots in while I was there and catch up with Jamie and Christian as well. Mainly went down to test out the new lens (24-70) and Nodal Ninja tripod head before making a decision on if I will be taking them both soon to the US. First reports on the Nodal Ninja is, its going to take a little learning to use. The head is quite easy to use but it will require me to shoot in a different manner, something that will take few shoots to come to grips with. I am yet to see the results and will post an image or two here on the blog later this week. If they turn out well then I could be taking to away with me, but right now I am on the fence about carting it around overseas.

As for the lens, no chance in hell its staying behind, so far I have found it sharper with more depth and better color reproduction than the 17-40 lens I had been using. I guess thats why many consider it to be one of Canons three best lens produced.

Jamie brought down his 1Ds Mrk III and 50 f/1.2 lens for us o have a little play and I gotta say the shutter sound gave me a boner, not as heavy as expected and very comfortable in the feel and positioning when shooting. Jamie still has to work out how the live view works and he knows if he is too busy there is a way all the cameras functionality can be worked out and sent to him in crib notes πŸ™‚

Next time I make a trip down to the south west I will have to spend around a week there. Ok time to download the trips pics and see what the results are.

About Neal Pritchard

TImeless landscape photography prints by Neal Pritchard
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Dunsborough Trip

  1. Dylan Fox says:

    Can’t wait to see your shots!
    Where did you stay while you were down there?
    I haven’t used the NN3 yet, but with clouds around I will get out tonight.
    Just the shutter speed set ya off!?!? I got to have a look at it and I definitely got excited. Maybe need to listen more closely.

    Cheers

  2. Oh yeah love the shutter sound, thats one good looking camera Jamie has there. I stayed with a mate works lives down there. I used the NN5L while I was down there will be interesting to see the results which are being stitched as we speak, fingers crossed.

  3. Dylan Fox says:

    Yeah I would love one!
    I think I might have to put my spending on equipment aside for a while as I am in need of a new car.
    Clouds are looking interesting today!

  4. jamiepatersonphotography says:

    Ok Live view is all worked out now. All you have to do is press the set button in the middle of the dial (you know the one to change aperature). It was great catching up Neal and I can’t wait to see what shots you got out of our ‘secret’ location.

    I can see how live view is beneficial to my fashion photography but not to landscape photography when we are doing stiched photos.

  5. Yeah would love one but going to have to sell a ton of pics to afford one.

    I processed a couple of images today from the friday evening shoot, tomorrow I will do “our” secret location shoot πŸ˜‰ which at first glance looks to have a couple of nice keepers the light was briefly very nice at that location Jamie. Was god catching up with yourself as well, will have to hit some spots around Perth with ya.

  6. jamiepatersonphotography says:

    Neal,

    Thanks for the tib bit about tags. I’ve started using them so it will be interesting to see what traffic I get now.

    Jamie

  7. jamiepatersonphotography says:

    You said to get the 150mm filters correct?

  8. 100*150 or 4*6 those ones Jamie. I have a set of the soft, but as I said Saturday I am looking at a set of Hard as sometimes the soft is a little hard to line up on coastlines.

  9. kirkhille says:

    Cant wait to see you photos
    Sound like had a great weekend .
    Im heading down South for Christians next course .
    Hopefully will be some nice skys for shots

  10. jamiepatersonphotography says:

    Sorry for the repeated posts. I checked out that blue element photgraphy last night. She has some wicked work.

  11. Jamie check out Oats fashion work, very nice. He shoots with a 5D. http://www.flickr.com/photos/hangingpixels/

    Or check out this Perth guy doing simular work
    http://www.bephotographic.com/dyn.php?id=12

Leave a Reply

