Gracetown

After a pretty restless night and a couple of hours spent on this image here is the results below. I think the sky now more reflects what I saw that evening and is more in tune with the rest of the scene, what do you think?

About Neal Pritchard

TImeless landscape photography prints by Neal Pritchard
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Gracetown

  1. Promising, for sure. Love the blurred motion you’ve captured here, Neal.

    I bought Jamie’s 5D. Can’t wait to get out and use it. I’ve been fiddling around with it tonight at home and it feels great!

  2. kirkhille says:

    Great capture cant wait to see the final version .
    Nice buy Beau and that price you got to be happy πŸ™‚

  3. Congrats on the 5D Beau your gonna love it. I am not overly happy with the sky in this image, maybe there is just too many colors in the overall image. Woke up this morning with an idea I will try today to maybe tone it down.

  4. Christian says:

    Hi Neal, yes the sky is a bit strange, but saying that I got one from the same afternoon that has a weird coloured sky too. I overworked it a bit. Have a look at Peter Eastways site. He has a couple of new crackers! Some good ideas can come from him. Still it is a nice shot and definitely a keeper.

  5. Hi Christian, funny you say Eastway I have his page open as we speak. Watched a lot of photoshop tv last night as well πŸ™‚

  6. dylanfox says:

    I love it Neal, I think this image is awesome!
    Yeah the sky is strange but I like it!
    Well done!

  7. dylanfox says:

    Oh yeah Neal are you shooting with faithful setting? I remember you asking Christian at the course.

  8. Thanks Dylan maybe the wife will get a god nights sleep tonight now as I heard I was a little restless last night over this image.

    I know i should be shooting in the faithful but I do not. I have several settings in the 5d picture stye menu where I have changed to custom saturation and hue levels pretty much a deep blue / red / green and then the same again but like a half way point not as deep say, plus a couple of oddball ones thrown in. When i tun up to a location whatever is the dominant color at the setting I try to match with one of my custom settings or adjust as I am there.

    maybe not the way to go in the end I have no idea its all a learning curve. ONly time i have shot at faithful is family and friends snap shot kind of things.

  9. Great shot! and funny, I’ve actually been to Gracetown back in 99. Went down with some friends from Perth that were well into surfing. Beautiful beaches.

    I’m thinking I like the white balance best in the first shot, it’s warmer and the water and rocks have a nice warm (slightly too purple but you can fix that) colour. But the sky is much better looking in version 2, the clouds are too purple in the first shot. Try and do a mix of the two πŸ™‚

    Btw. The picture style settings in the 5D makes absolutely no difference whatsoever if you shoot RAW (which you do of course) – they only affect the small jpeg thumbnail, and Canons DPP raw tool can read the picture styles if you like. Otherwise they make no difference at all.

  10. Dylan Fox says:

    Yeah I’m not using faithful as I have mine set a way that works pretty well for me.

    Anyway I don’t think theres a problem with the sky in the top photo. It looks pretty gradual to me, and I like it!

  11. jamiepatersonphotography says:

    Hi Neal,

    I think Flemming just answered your question from questions course. ie why is that your custom settings don’t seem to work in PS.

    Jamie Paterson

  12. I use DPP for raw processing a lot of the time and then open up the tiff in camera raw if need be. I hear you can set your camera styles in camera raw for CS3 but have not worked out how as yet.

  13. Have been known to process one in DDP and another in CS3 camera raw and use as layers, I think I either read that from scott kelby or eastway, not the using ddp but double processing the same image in camera raw.

  14. I can’t even remember what I have the picture style of my 5D set to, it makes no difference at all to me. I use either Pixmantec Rawshooter (faaaantastic tool, really wish Adobe didn’t buy out the company to make Lightroom) or Lightroom to develop my RAW files so the picture styles or any camera picture setting (white balance for example, RAW files have no white balance) for that matter is totally irrelevant.

  15. I should try lightroom. Never been totally happy with either DDP ( lack of functions) or camera raw (can never quite capture what DDP produces or in camera settings)

  16. merv french says:

    Flemming is correct, picture styles is a JPEG thing , it has no effect in raw. I used Canon DDP once then deleted it from the computer, waste of space.

    Rawshooter was a very good program Flemming but Lightroom is much better when you get used to it I think. If you have a mac computer try a trial of the latest Aperture, the features on that are pretty good and they say the new version, coming later this year, of Lightroom has some pretty handy features as well. A 30 day trial of either is well worth it

    Unless you are really into it Photoshop is fast becoming a tool of professional graphic artists only.

  17. Christian says:

    nice Neal, just watch the blown out highlights in the sky. I usually fix these by cloning some other sky near by, dropping the opacity to about 30% then painting some detail back.

  18. Thx Christian, those highlights just on top of the rocky coastline I will need to work on for sure.

Leave a Reply

