Yosemite National Park

Well we made it 7 hours after leaving Tahoe we arrived at our next stop to drop our bags refresh and spend the next week exploring one of mother earths natural wonders. We took the long way in via hwy 395 that took us past Mono Lake (cool pics to come) and up to the gates of Yosemite National Park ^9945^ feet up. We drove in and quite literally this is the first thing we saw (pic below) Towering mountain to the left and right partially frozen lake ringed by tall pine trees in the center and me knee deep in snow taking a series of pics. I was stunned by what I saw, sure I had seen pictures before and seen plenty of discovery channel shows etc but SHIT no photography, tv show or postcard captures the sheer beauty of this place. I had been here back in 1993 and sure it was gorgeous back then, but that was the height of summer and there was hardly any creeks/ lakes or waterfalls running, this time round there was frozen lakes, prairies covered in snow with cravace’s of clear trout filled water and snow in places we saw at least 6 feet deep, we kept stopping the car almost every 400 mtrs and gasping at what we were seeing.

Heres a pic, my first ever taken in snow and damn thats not as easy as I thought, there is so much glare. This image is one of 6 I took and I have no idea what or if I’ll use it. With a week to explore in Yosemite I may get better at snow exposure, plus I was like a 4 year old on xmas eve when I took this shot, a little overwhelmed and excited.

 

About Neal Pritchard

TImeless landscape photography prints by Neal Pritchard
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Yosemite National Park

  1. Trust me, when you get snow every year you really end up hating it with a passion! 😀 But great shots, really interesting to follow your photo odyssey.

    And yeah snow plays tricks on your cameras meter so meter of the sky or just shoot manually.

  2. dylanfox says:

    Looks pretty sweet to me!
    Did you use any ND’s?

  3. Jason says:

    So much for summer huh. Looks nice and cold.

  4. Well it is still spring here and being so high up I guess we should expect it to be a little cooler, I was surprised at how it was not as cold as I thought it would be, unless you you catch a breeze, then its freakin cold.

    I did use a .9 grad Dylan and thx Flem I’ll do a little experimenting today.

  5. Leon says:

    Looks great to me, Neal. It was great meeting you and shooting with you the other day. Hope you get some good weather in Yosemite.

  6. Good to finally meet you too Leon, I was looking through that mornings pics and I think the Fallen Leaf Lake ones and will turn out nice, the Emerald Bay one may taken a little work, yours looks nice by the way on FlickR so I should manage to have something from that location, The waterfall ones I am not sure on, may of ben a little bright and the sky behind it looks a little flat but we’ll see soon.

    Yosemite is just awesome, you gotta pack the wife and kids and up and get down here, so much snow melt and not many people I guess its the gas prices keeping folks at home?

    cheers

  7. lukeaustin says:

    WOW!
    I am unbelievably envious. I hope to one day get to Yosemite, it would be a dream come true. Can’t wait to see the rest of your shots.

Leave a Reply

