Kaanapali Coconut Palms

Not sure if this works or not so thats one reason to post it here and get a little feedback. I was taking images facing the other direction of the beach and sunset and turned around to see this. I went for the long exposure to try and capture the feel of the coconut palm gently blowing in the calm warm breeze. Never really tried anything like this before. I used a ND grad to slow the shutter down a little and tried to tone down the pink and purple hues to the right of the image. I was going to try the Siliuette type image but I figured they have been done to death and went with this angle.

The image(s) 3 were taken right on the beach looking back to our hotel. The following night we attended a Luau at pretty much the same spot on the beach. Gorgeous surroundings warm and tropical made for eating and drinking Lava Flow cocktails very easy.

Why I named this five brothers is I saw the bachelor and three graces in Yosemite National Park and recently saw the Mark Walberg movie five Brothers.

 

About Neal Pritchard

TImeless landscape photography prints by Neal Pritchard
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Kaanapali Coconut Palms

  1. Dylan Fox says:

    It’s very different and for that I like it. It does have a great feel to it.

    Lakers got one by the way!!! yay

  2. 6 points when Pierce failed to really score, sounds good for the Celtics 🙂

  3. I reckon your exposure is a bit too long for this to really work. It’s a great idea but to really work you need a mix of super sharp subjects and blurry stuff in the composition – that looks great to the human eye. Here you almost only have blurry stuff. A shorter exposure might have left some parts sharp, and some stuff (like the leaves) blurry and that works better.

  4. Your most likely right Flem. At the time I was thinking more along the of a louse mann type image but I guess I failed poorly in that area. maybe I could photoshop it more to reflect her type of image.

    In the end I was just experimenting and wanted to see how it would turn out. I have a set of near sharp images but I really do not like the feel from them, it just looks like there is no air and its just another palm tree and blueish sky pic …. Maybe its just a case of a DO OVER (have to run that past the wife).

  5. dylanfox says:

    I think maybe try the shorter exposure and get a motion blur over the leaves but not the trunks…
    Might be worth a try.
    But I think there might be enough detail in the trunks in this…

  6. Would be nice to do a do over but not this soon afterwards. I am stuck with what it is for now.

  7. I agree with some of the earlier comments. I think this would work better if there were some sharp elements (like the palm trunks and coconuts) and then some blurred elements (like palm leaves, clouds and bushes).

    I think you need some sharp elements as anchors in the image.

    I still like it though.

    BP

  8. Thanks Brent, would be nice to do a do over, but I have learnt from my mistake and am now on the lookout for a similar opportunity in passing for a similar image.

Leave a Reply

