Ellery Lake Tioga Pass

The Tioga Pass entrance to Yosemite National Park. Ellery Lake is around 12 miles before your enter the National Parks Service entrance to Yosemite National Park. 

This is a 7 image stitch taken around midday on the first day of the road being opened. Those taking this route are in for what I would say is the prettiest part of the park with the meadows etc, but you are in for a long drive to get to the valley floor (2hrs) and even further if you are staying at Fish Camp (3hrs) all up it took us around 7 and bit hrs to drive from South Tahoe via the 395 Hwy, which is spectacular in its own right and if I had known that would of spent 2 or 3 days just taking my time along this route.

First time I had really taken a shot with so much glaring white but I think it came out pretty good in the end. I like the way the lake still has a layer that is frozen and you only see part of the reflection.

About Neal Pritchard

TImeless landscape photography prints by Neal Pritchard
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ellery Lake Tioga Pass

  1. Dylan Fox says:

    Nice shot. Yeah that bit of reflection is awesome!
    If it was my shot I would get rid of the road sign, but thats just me!
    Where did you take your exposure reading from?
    And did you use an ND?
    Cheers

  2. I was taking readings from all over the place and in the end I just went for the darkest art of the ice which seemed to be under the clouds. Yes I think I either used a .9 or .6

    I kinda left the road sign in it because it shows the elevation and name of the lake. Its not going to make it to the portfolio but I like it more because I was there. I may print one off for the house for us.

Leave a Reply

