South Tahoe Pier

I have envisioned before I went back to Tahoe to photograph this location with blue skies and whispy white clouds, well that was not to be this time around. Maybe next time?

It was going to be cold with dark ominous clouds. Oh well I was still going to get a nice shot in the end.

What seemed to be a grey old day at Lake Tahoe the light changed fast towards the evening. Not wanting to drive back another 45 mins to Sand Harbor I ventured out in the freezing cold and man it was cold for a west aussie. No idea of the temp but when one can not hold his tripod for no more than 20 or 30 seconds bare handed its FREAKIN COLD! 4 layers of clothing and hands wrapped in a jacket to hold the tripod I ventured down to the closest thing to photograph, the long pier at South Tahoe. Only 11 months earlier I was in a surf sky of sorts paddling around the lake in boardies and tshirt getting a tan with not a care in the world but of tipping over into the water. Today was so different.

I find at Lake Tahoe the light and clouds change very fast and sunrises and sunset twilight seem to last for so long, must have something to do with being ringed by the mountain ranges I guess. It does make shooting nice as you have so much more time to shoot.

This is a 4 image stitch with .9 and .6 stacked grads. The pier itself is very textured and weathered so I left the sharpening of the image to a min. This is also my first done with PTGui Pro edition all the rest have been with CS3. Yesterday I paid to have the removal of those PTGUi ghost logos on the images and went with PTGui Pro.

 

 

About Neal Pritchard

TImeless landscape photography prints by Neal Pritchard
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to South Tahoe Pier

  1. kirkhille says:

    Nice shot mate ,
    Very simple and nice composition ,
    Love the colors your getting with these shots .
    Sounds like it was pretty cold over there

  2. Mel says:

    Awesome shot!!!

  3. Kirk cold it surely was, but a different kind of cold compared to those very windy grey winter days or Perth. Maybe because there was virtually no wind to speak off, either way I am I much prefer the heat of the tropics any day. But was very cool to se snow and experience what I never have before.

  4. dylanfox says:

    Great stuff mate. I can’t wait to go to this lake some day!
    Hopefully I will live in the states for a while soon. Easy for me being a citizen! haha

    Cheers

  5. Awesome, set yourself up nicely then we can all shack up at your place and head out for shoots for a couple of years 🙂

    Anyone seen Kobe ? Was not at the Staples center tonight 😉 3-1 one more game just one more game.

  6. Dylan Fox says:

    Did he play?
    I don’t have espn so I just get to see the results on the web.
    Yeah it looks like the celtics have it wrapped up.

  7. Yeah he played. But seemed more concerned with looking cool and aloof than actually showing heart.

  8. Leon says:

    If you think it was cold then, you should come here in the winter. ha ha.

    I just bought PT Gui myself. Seems to work pretty well.

    Very nice shot here, Neal.

  9. Dylan Fox says:

    Thats my Kobe!
    I’ll tell ya what if he can’t put a performance in, in the 15th, the Celtics will have the championship.

Leave a Reply

