The Road To Hana

One of the most spectacular drives I have ever been on was “The Road To Hana” on Maui.

This 50 mile drive is on the side on the mountain and on a VERY narrow road. We took a tour for the day after trying to drive it ourselves and deciding a head on smash not knowing each bend was not the way to go. Traffic moves both ways on this barely wide enough road for one car. There are 59 one way bridges and countless hairpin blind bends in the road.

The whole drive there and back including lunch was a 12 hr trip and a must do on the Island of Maui. So many spectacular vistas, waterfalls, pools and lava rocks one day is just not enough. Being on a tour and taking photos is not the best but I did manage a few nice images in the regular stopping spots. This image below was not one of those stopping spots, I asked the driver, a local who had done the drive since he was 14 years old over a 1000 times if he could make this stop as I saw the trees on the way up and wanted a chance to capture them on the return leg.

I would love to have spent more time at this location slightly later in the day and on the other side of the barb wire fence I was forced to take this image from. But that being what is was I think I managed something nice in the end.

If anyone knows where and IF these tress grow in Australia please let me know I would love the chance to photograph them again. They are not native to Australia but native to the Philippines.

About Neal Pritchard

TImeless landscape photography prints by Neal Pritchard
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The Road To Hana

  1. michael says:

    love the coulors in the trunks. photo shows the things we miss everyday

  2. Thx Bro, glad you found the blog πŸ™‚

  3. kirkhille says:

    Nice shot mate , they got really nice texture and colors in the trunks .
    I would have probally just walked right past them

  4. I think you would of stopped as well Kirk, they did standout on the side of the road and looked even more colorful at the fence, I wish I could of gotten closer and maybe a little more side on, but the large fence with barb wire was there for a reason and being on a tour I did not want to piss a local off. maybe next time πŸ™‚

  5. Dylan Fox says:

    SNAPPP!!!!!
    that is a great shot mate! Keep on rolling out these new shots!

  6. Thanks Dylan, it will take a little while to go through all the images taken. After posting this las evening I did find another series shot at 70mm that make look better being a little closer as this was shot at around 26mm and is a 4 image stitch. I hope to have it processed later this week.

  7. Leon says:

    The best thing is to spend at least one night in Hana instead of trying to do that drive all in one day. We did that, and it was well worth it. I wouldn’t have minded staying a 2nd night there too.

  8. Yeah 2 or 3 nights would of been the way to go for sure. I had no idea that part if the Island would be so dramatic and beautiful.

  9. Shirlene says:

    Gorgeous views all the way up there. The jungle canopies are amazing. You really caught the feeling with your photo. Nice job.

  10. Thanks Shirlene, its an absolute gorgeous place Hana and can see why it has ben featured in so many films. Would love to get back there one day and spend a few days on the Road To Hana

  11. Rod Thomas says:

    Hi,
    Have been reading fletch’s blog for a while and now yours.. I was just in Maui as well, and did the drive to hana… after reading all about it, it was much easier than first thought. We stayed there a night and did the hike up the Pipwai Trail to Waimoku Falls. when we got to the top, it started to rain, giving the place a little bit of atmosphere, it was beautfilul… Wold love to chat with you about some of your images, as I love that part of the world as well… Awesome shots…

    Rod

  12. Jeffery says:

    The Rainbow Eucalyptus can be found on Maui in a couple other locations. You really captured them well. It’s a gorgeous spot, and so it the farm land in the opposite direction.

    Next time, you’ll have to do as Rod Thomas suggests and stay over night. Having time to capture the Beauty of the Road to Hana is really important, especially for a photographer. Thanks for sharing.

  13. I would love to go back to Maui in the very near future. When I do I will be spending most of my time “On The Road To Hana” that is definitely gods country. I’d like to get back tomorrow but alas I live a zillion miles away and its a big trip and quite expensive, but I do plan on making at least one more trip there. Thanks for you comment Jeffery. Your site is quite informative as well.

Leave a Reply

