Pier 7 San Francisco

Spent the evening with Agus ( check out his cool images on his FlickR page here ) shooting at Pier 7 in San Francisco after dinner at Taylors Refresher . It was a rather cold evening with very heavy fog.

Because the fog got so heavy I had to continually wipe down the lens, in the end most of the later images never really turned out as the fog became heavier and heavier, but these first few did and a few more taken a little earlier of the Bay Bridge.

This is a 3 image stitch.

 

About Neal Pritchard

TImeless landscape photography prints by Neal Pritchard
This entry was posted in Landscape Images and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Pier 7 San Francisco

  1. kirkhille says:

    Another nice shot mate ,
    These black and white shots are coming out really great . Love the detail and composition in this shot

  2. Dylan Fox says:

    I love it! The fog makes it very eerie! I love the composition! I know what you mean about having to wipe down the lens. I had the same problem in Melbourne. I was shooting last night in a valley with light rain about so between every shot I had to wipe away little drops of water.

    Have you been using the Ninja since you have been back?

  3. Thanks Kirk and Dylan

    I took the ninja out the other day but no not really I need to do some more testing on it. One thing I don’t like it the pain in the ass the leveling is.

  4. dylanfox says:

    Mate you have seen my tripod! Try leveling it on that! PTGui works wonders.

    Just out of curiosity, have you tried bringing the whites up a little more? Just wondering how the ferry would look!

  5. Nope have not tried that Dylan. PTgui I still find I have issues with with regards to those damn control points, sometimes its cool other times its a nightmare and it asks me to set them, I try and wow it turns into a complete mess.

  6. awesome atmosphere
    black and white works so well with this scene
    i love the starlight effect on the lights leading down the pier

  7. Luke Austin says:

    Love this shot mate, as Dylan and Kirk said the composition is spot on.

  8. merv french says:

    I like this one a lot, well done.I wouldn’t give it anymore pop, it looks natural as is,it would print up nice.
    With PTGUI I never set control points even if it asks, it will usually sort it out, but I have found the more overlap the better the stitch, which makes sense of course. If you do set them you have to be pretty spot on with point’s you pick and set quite a few.
    I made my own pano head, cost all of $10, put a couple of quick release plate’s on I had left over and it takes only a minute or less to drop it on the tripod click the camera on and away. I have a 3way head and stuck a bullseye level on the pano head and it levels up pretty quick.

Leave a Reply

