Sand Harbor

Back to processing some images today, I have so many more to go over still. Tahoe being one of my favorite places to visit I decided to work on this set of images. This is a 5 image stitch taken at 50mm with the trusty canon 5D and the 24-70 lens. I tried stitching this in CS3 and PTGui and this time round PTGui did the job a little better.

Some Lake Tahoe facts
Lake Tahoe is the second deepest lake in the US at around 1,645 feet with around 70 miles of coastline of which arond 2/3rd’s is in California the rest being Nevada. Sand Harbor itself is in Nevada and quite a drive from South Tahoe or Stateline. The shoreline water level is around 6200 feet elevation and the water because of the depth pretty much stays the same at around temp of around 70F.

The clarity of the water is something to see, and I have heard around 180 feet. With that being said there is a group trying to preserve this called Keep Tahoe Blue.

About Neal Pritchard

TImeless landscape photography prints by Neal Pritchard
This entry was posted in Landscape Images and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Sand Harbor

  1. kirkhille says:

    Great shot mate love the water and rocks .
    Sky looks sweet as well .Not to keen on the boarder but found it a little distracting

  2. Very fine art shot, gorgeous tone, good composition and lovely scene. Did you use a polarizer on this stitch or is this water just that transparent?
    Can’t say that I’m a big fan of that frame with a desat bigger version of the image as background, makes it very confusing to look at πŸ™‚

  3. Clearest water I have ever sen Flem. They say you can see to around 180 feet with the spinning disk test. So no polarizer. Was just messing round with boarders have a little creative fun, I like it for a change, but no one else does ….

  4. Incredibly clear water, you wouldn’t notice walking into it before you got wet! The clear calm water must have helped the stitching I would reckon. Do you use any plugins for borders, or just your own PS magic?

  5. No plugging Flem just messing around with smart objects today. The water n a clear blue day is even more amazing, I have some pics from my 207 visit I should post that will give you a better idea of the clarity of the water.

  6. lukeaustin says:

    That just jumps right out at you. Looks like a magic place.

  7. This place looks so beautiful.
    That water really is something amazing.
    Sorry, but i do agree with the others on the border….

  8. jAMES says:

    Beautiful contrast in the clouds. you sure have some great photos from your travels.

    Are you guys shooting anywhere this weekend?

  9. Not sure James at this stage, I’d like to get out for a shoot or 2 will depend on weather I guess at his early stage.

  10. dylanfox says:

    One word describes this… ‘PERFECT’.
    Oh and ‘jealous’

  11. dylanfox says:

    This is definitely the best photo i have seen in at least a month!!!

    It had to be said

  12. Thanks Dylan, its pretty much a gold mine over there for location spots and you can not go wrong. Best thing about this day though was the BBQ championships at Stateline and I mean REAL BBQ not what we call a BBQ here in Aust, where in reality all we do is grill. I mean slow cooked BBQ in a smoker. I have a smoker and always do quite a few slow cooked BBQ over the course of a year, but to actually be sampling some of the BBQ’ers in the US was sensational. I was like a pig in shit, sampling so many ribs, brisket and pulled pork I did not know when to stop. The best tasting ribs though went to Kinders those ribs are just insanely good, washed down with a coulpe of cold brews, damn I wish I was back there right about now.

  13. dylanfox says:

    thats what sucks about holidays, once your home all you have is a memory. But we are lucky that we take photos of these amazing places. Mate I want this photo!
    You need to open a gallery!

  14. Would love to open a gallery and its something I would like to explore in 09 as I have a couple of ideas floating around that could be interesting but first things first I need to get this web site up (working on it today all day, loading content to it)

  15. jamiepatersonphotography says:

    Actually I love the border. πŸ™‚

  16. dylanfox says:

    Yeah i been waiting to see this website!
    How far do you think it will be?

  17. Thanks Jamie thats 3 for the border and about a dozen against.
    Man I wish is was up already but fingers crossed its just a matter of weeks. We have had an aspect of the site that has proven more difficult that first imagined.

  18. You’ll be happy to know Dylan I JUST this minute finished adding this image to the database of the site, so yep you can purchase it soon πŸ˜‰

  19. kirkhille says:

    I say you would have a few more buyer then just Dylan for this shot Neal πŸ™‚
    Would look great in my bedroom
    You heading out to shot this weekend ?

  20. Would surely love to Kirk. If the weather is good for it I’ll be out there. No idea where to go as yet, things have been really busy and I have not given any thought to where to go, any suggestions?

  21. dylanfox says:

    By the looks of things we all need to head to Lake Tahoe!!!

  22. Beau says:

    Thats a magnificent image, Neal. Great composition and detail…

    I have to say, I don’t particularly like the frame.

    I haven’t been very active with photography lately but I am on holiday on the Gold Coast so hopefully I’ll grab some nice shots while I’m over here πŸ™‚

    Beau

  23. Good to hear from you Beau, there’s was a few of us wondering “wheres Beau?” So your enjoying the east coast, nice you should be coming back with a nice handful of cool images. Most don’t like the framing so your not alone …. Have a great trip cya when you get back.

  24. Great shot. I had a great time shooting in the States in April but unfortunatley only had a week to my self for some photos – better than nothing I suppose…

  25. Thanks Mark, I had a blast there shooting for a month, wish it was longer.

Leave a Reply

