Zephyr Point

This image came out a little larger than I had planned. After stitching the 12 images it came out at 270cm long and not quite the aspect ration I wanted … Now I have to decide where is came be cropped down to a more realistic aspect ratio and size. Or I could make it my first mega-pan image by default. No idea really what to do with it. No post processing as yet. Just takes too damn long on an image this size. Just grads and that stunning California Sierra Sky.

Anyway though it was worth a post for a look.

 

 

About Neal Pritchard

TImeless landscape photography prints by Neal Pritchard
This entry was posted in Landscape Images and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Zephyr Point

  1. What a stunner of a location and fantastic sky. But you’re right it is a bit too wide and it’s a shame the leading water line is straight down, I reckon it would be a stronger composition with this leading line at an angle. I had a go at cropping it, send you an email.

  2. dylanfox says:

    Im lost as well mate.
    I kinda like the line down the center and the tree in the middle. But if I was going to crop I would lose just a little beach.
    Amazing clouds!

  3. Thanks Flem for the crop thats pretty much how I saw a crop as well.

    I was hesitant to crop much more out of the beach for fear of loosing width of the image …. Might have a closer look though and see what other image I took of this area to se if I can not pull a keep out of it.

  4. kirkhille says:

    nice wide shot mate .
    Clouds look great over there .
    I would personally crop just after the tree line on the right .

  5. Thanks Kirk thats what I am leading to as well. Might try and crop a little beach as well and fingers crossed still end up with a good size image. This is the first image that after stitching has had to have substantial reduction in size. I am not too keen on upsizing images for potential lose of quality so would really like to get this one to work.

    Would love a 1ds mrkIII but damn $10k is a lot of $$$ right now.

  6. dylanfox says:

    I agree with Kirk thats where I would crop it.

    I had a look at the crop on my computer and I quite like it.

  7. jAMES says:

    I would keep the left and crop the beach out, only on account of the sky in that area.

    If you like the beach though, you can always flip the sky 🙂

  8. Hmm food for thought jAMES 🙂

  9. casarotto says:

    I love this shot dude, great atmosphere.
    I tend to agree it should be cropped, maybe crop out all the trees to the right, that way you get more focus on the awesome sky and the rocks.
    there seems to be a purple cast to the right side of the image, I think I prefer the neutrality of the left side a bit better, but that’s just my personal taste.

Leave a Reply

