Waterfall

Well early to bed early to rise they say. Pasted out very early last night as I had arrange to meet up with Kirk and Jamie for a dawn shoot around a hour from home, so a 4am wake up call to set off in time with a long drive ahead to be on time. Arriving a little early I found a gas station just opening up and had to do the bacon egg and cheese toastie at 5.30am YUM 🙂

Reached the predetermined spot in complete blackness and fog, but no rain so things where looking good so far. Jamie was moments behind and like always the energizer bunny to get going ( in complete darkness on slippery rocks mind you ) After hunting round for my tiny touch we made our way to a rockery slippery platform down stream a few yards and set up shop, well he did I could not see for shit so I left the camera in the car till at least I could see my hand in front of my face. After a couple of test snaps Kirk ( the 3rd and quiet one in the party – have to watch that LOL ) shows up and with all there at the location and the light starting to come out to play we all set up in and around the falls and started snapping away like mad …. 

I’m glad I made the trip out as there was plenty of water and from first glance there could be some nice exposures from this trip.

I look forward to seeing both Jamie and Kirk’s results. This is the first couple from myself with pretty much nil processing bar a little curves and sharpening, they are both 2 image stitches taken on the Canon 5D with a 24-70 lens. No grads on this image.

About Neal Pritchard

TImeless landscape photography prints by Neal Pritchard
This entry was posted in Landscape Images and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Waterfall

  1. jamiepatersonphotography says:

    Nice work Neal. I need filters!!!! Grrr. I was happy with some of mine. I’ll put them up later.

  2. jamiepatersonphotography says:

    So we shooting tomorrow or are we sleeping in?

  3. Check your email I sent you links for those filters …
    I’d like to shoot myself, had a good time this morning and came away with a few nice images so I’d like to shot sunday as well.

  4. Kirk Hille says:

    Nice shots mate got a few myself i will be keen for tomorrow morning send post details on the location your heading

  5. lukeaustin says:

    Both great shots. Love the reflections off the water on the top image.
    The only thing I can fault is the leaves just poking into the top of the second frame.
    Where are you guys heading in the morning?

  6. Whats folks thoughts on either fremantle fishing boat harbor or Kalamunda / Lesmurdie Falls ?

  7. Yeah those leaves are a little annoying was going to try and crop or clone them out when with the final proof …

  8. jamiepatersonphotography says:

    Fishing boat harbour defintely. Lesmurdie Falls next weekend when the storm has run its course. There is coffee there and more importantly its closer.

    I’d like to scope Lesmurdie Falls before turning up in the morning so I might duck down there next Friday arvo.

  9. Sounds good to me … How about 6.15am just at the car park on the water front as you cross over the tracks for starters ?

  10. kirkhille says:

    I think it would bet between Kalamunda or Lesmurdie falls ?
    Whats every ones elses thoughts

  11. Luke Austin says:

    I’m looking at shooting somewhere in the morning. Don’t know where yet though.
    Light winds and a minimum of 4 so hopefully there is still going to be a little bit of cloud about.

  12. jamiepatersonphotography says:

    Neal,

    I don’t want to sound wussy but my leg still hurts from the injections. Let’s park a bit closer. What about out the front of Joe’s Fish Shack? 🙂 0615 sounds good to me. I’ll see you then.

    Jamie Paterson

  13. Sounds ok to me
    I’l keep next Saturday morning free for lesmurdie / kalamuda falls after this weeks rain it should be flowing nice next week as well

  14. Dylan Fox says:

    Nice shots mate.
    Now theres all these new spot that I am going to have to check out when I get back!

    Hope ya’ll get some good shots at Freo!

  15. kirkhille says:

    okay so fremantle fishing harbour at 6.15

  16. jamiepatersonphotography says:

    Hi Dylan,

    We’re just keeping everything warm for you. 😉

    Jamie Paterson

  17. clintbaker85 says:

    damn it i keep looking at the wrong posts and miss where u guys are goin bloody work…. i will have to get your numbers. these shots look great neal, i think i might head up there today and check out the area,
    nice work

  18. Yeah i agree Clint, I was just saying to Kirk and Jamie this morning maybe we should have a blog where we are all moderators that we use just for organising things because sometimes its rather difficult to know what blog has what post etc ….

    Something to think about …

  19. Beau says:

    I really like that second photo, Neal. The swirling water is nice and the composition is spot on, imo.

    The group blog where we are all moderators sounds great! I definitely think we should do something with that idea.

  20. clintbaker85 says:

    yer great idea Neal i think we should get that started asap, just got back form those noble falls then great place i think i might go up one day this week for a morning shoot since i got a couple of days off

  21. I’ll start one over the next day or so and post here for folks …

  22. kirkhille says:

    cool let me know when you got the site up and running mate .
    As well what was that Scott Kelby bok you were talking about ?

  23. Love the second shot Neal.
    That crack in the rock leads in nicely and the water is magical. I would also crop those leaves out..
    Very nice though

Leave a Reply

