Cottesloe Landmark

Been trying for this shot of Cottesloe Beach, Western Australia for a long time. I think I got pretty close this time. Just a little more cloud would of been nice and a shorter exposure, well there is always next time.

4 image stitch shot at 70mm manually stitched (what a pain that was) No chance of CS3 or PTgui finding enough reference points for either program to stitch. The blue in the Jpeg web version are so much stronger than the tiff 😦

lonebuoy

About Neal Pritchard

TImeless landscape photography prints by Neal Pritchard
This entry was posted in Landscape Images and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Cottesloe Landmark

  1. Clint Baker says:

    mate this is a great shot…. simple but i really like it….
    What are u up 2 2nite?? jayne mel bree and myself are goin up to JFNP if ur interested…i think around 4.30

  2. most people would be more then happy with this. but you’re not happy still and wish to improve it yet again.
    pretty clear why you’re doing so well man!

    those blues are magic! so nice on the eye

  3. kirkhille says:

    nice shot mate ,
    love the simplicity of this
    I just stitched one almost the same lol

  4. mervfrench says:

    Great shot, very nice. I’ve got a couple of this but nothing like that unfortunately.

    Don’t want to be picky but it’s not technically a buoy , it’s a pylon…sorry.

  5. Mike says:

    A fantastic image… A guy can learn a lot from your photos..

  6. wow i was just confused as hell!!

    just saw Kirk post a shot near identical to this on Red Bubble.
    and made me really think I was going crazy. I was certain i’d commented on your blog about your image. then thought i’d got it wrong and commented on Kirks…. then i just hoped I hadn’t called you Kirk or vice versa…. can you please not do that again fellas!! 😛

  7. kirkhille says:

    had the same problem with mine with the net jpg image looking nothing like the version in PS . They really look so different the blues in each image

  8. It’s nice but it doesn’t really hit the mark for me. The lone Buoy just isn’t interesting enough for me as a sole anchor point in this otherwise very nice exercise in simplicity!

  9. thomasparkes says:

    I really, really like it Neal,
    Nice colour too, and the fact you stitched it manually tops it off.

    Great work.

  10. Dylan Fox says:

    I was gonna try this same composition you thief! 😉
    After spending the last few weekends down at cott I always think yep Im shooting that thing tomorrow!
    I will have to try a different compostion!
    By the way I really like it!

  11. Thanks Dylan – I first shot this POV over a year ago (pre stitch days) just taken me this long to get back around to doing it properly.

    There’s another great POV just screaming at this location, but I am sure you know it …. if not stay tuned … 😉

    Thanks Thomas / Flem / Kirk / Stephen / Mike/ Merv and Clint

  12. lukeaustin says:

    Love the simplicity. I too was confused when I saw the shot considering I had seen Kirk’s version. This bouy/pylon is similar to Crawley Boat shed in that it has been shot so often and only so much has/can be done with it.
    Look forward to you other POV that is still to come.

Leave a Reply

