Sydney Sunsets

Are insanely good if you catch one. One this particular evening you could tell from around 2pm it was going to be a an awesome sunset, high clouds at first light slowly getting heavier and lower as the day went on, it was very interesting day cloud wise …

I set myself up for an evening shoot, the sun was starting to set and the sky lit up. Problem 1. it was not as intense over the ocean where I was. Problem 2. All of a sudden it was like I was in a mini hurricane at the beach, the wind picked up so fast and strong I have to run back to the car from Mona Vale Pools …. Problem 3. It started to bucket down, like a tropical rain storm …

Solution –  Brace myself against the back edge of the toilet block at Mona Vale Beach out of the driving rain and wind and shoot these trees looking west. Its all I have to shoot.

15 mins later it was calm and the rain stopped very errie, so I went round the beach side and shot the pools and beach headlands, trouble was the best part of the sunset had faded and never really showed the intensity as it did looking west when I was able to shoot on the east side.

Heres a shot of my backyard for the evening, braced up against the brick wall of the toilet block at Mona Vale Beach looking West … 3 image stitch

neonshark_blog

About Neal Pritchard

TImeless landscape photography prints by Neal Pritchard
This entry was posted in Landscape Images and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sydney Sunsets

  1. Julie Fox says:

    Not sure about the title – but a damn fine photo – the things you find behind toilet blocks, eh?

  2. Thanks Julie … You never know 🙂

  3. Christian says:

    mate that happened to me so many times on my recent trip on the east coast. I hate getting skys like this with nothing to plonk in front of them.

  4. Hi Neal,

    I used to live on the end of the Mona Vale headland facing the beach for about 2yrs. It used to be awesome kicking back with a beer and watching those sunsets. Ahhh the good old days. 🙂

  5. Thanks Christian – They do get a lot of nice light and clouds over that way with so much to shoot as well …

Leave a Reply

