Mount Shasta Prints

Driving along Interstate 5 between waterfalls and just after a road side nap. Mount Shasta was all too visible at every bend and turn on the road. What a majestic looking mountain. Most of the late morning and round lunch it just looked way way too bright and still having quite a drive to my next blue marker on google maps I pulled over and took a nap. When I woke maybe 30 or 45 mins later by the side of the road the light had changed dramatically and some nice cloud had arrived. Driving a little further up the road I found a nice off the beaten path vantage point that I thought I would try.

Result is a 4 image stitch at 200mm of Mount Shasta … One of my favorite captures from the trip thus far, main reason being it was unexpected and what a view to wake up to even if it was from the front seat of a car in the afternoon …. I wish all my afternoon naps had this view …

Naturalist and author John Muir said of Shasta:

“When I first caught sight of it over the braided folds of the Sacramento Valley, I was fifty miles away and afoot, alone and weary. Yet all my blood turned to wine, and I have not been weary since.”

Theodore Roosevelt said:

“I consider the evening twilight on Mt. Shasta one of the grandest sights I have ever witnessed.”

Source http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mount_Shasta


About Neal Pritchard

TImeless landscape photography prints by Neal Pritchard
This entry was posted in Landscape Images and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Mount Shasta Prints

  1. Clint Baker says:

    WOW!!!….. mate if only we had these sorts of mountains over here!!! bloody good capture mate!!

  2. Cheers Clint … If only 🙂

  3. michaelolive says:

    Beautiful! Its not every day you wake to these kind of views. Gotta love those unexpected photos and they always tend to be favorites. You have controlled the exposure well here as it would have been easy to loose some detail.

  4. James says:

    Lovely, I can almost feel the weather. For some reason, the tree on the far left is a little distracting. I think its the scale of it compared to the rest of the trees.

  5. Thanks Michael – Would love to spend more time up there, next time maybe …

    Thanks James for stopping by, was not sure about the tree in or out, so left it in

  6. hodgy1 says:

    Excellent composition in this one Neil, really nice image.

  7. kirkhille says:

    Nice shot again Neal , as Clint said would love to have mountains like this over here would be able to go snow boarding and have something decent to take photos of

  8. Thanks Peter and Kirk … Not so sure about the snow boarding but I know I would be a lot fitter from all the hiking I would do looking for Coyotes and Bears …

Leave a Reply

