California Gold Rush

Well it felt that way as soon as I hit the ground in California. A rush to get as much done in 24 shooting days s possible. One of my main reasons for going at that time of year was the hope to capture some fall color. As the weeks leading up to leaving I was reading every blog and fall article and map I could find keeping track of the color changes where and when they where it was happening. Not that I could do much about my departure date or anything, what I was going to get was what I was going to get … Get Lemons, make lemonade as they say …

When I first arrived the color was sparse to say the least. As I was about to leave the mountains, there where pockets that where in full color. After seeing countless cottonwoods and aspens in the range of 30-60% color you ask yourself, so when will I know when I see some at their peak … WHEN YOU SEE IT YOU’LL JUST KNOW!

It is just an absolute blaze of color that is harder to capture than I had thought. Nevertheless we shoot as much as we can. I think I have quite a few images that have some if not full color, this being one little pocket off a sharp hairpin right turn off hwy 395 down a steep track that ends with a huge boulder at the end and 9 point turn to get back out in the car … Still so worth the effort …

Planning has begun for the 2010 trip 🙂

About Neal Pritchard

TImeless landscape photography prints by Neal Pritchard
This entry was posted in Landscape Images and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to California Gold Rush

  1. Ailsa says:

    WOW that is gorgeous. Just beautiful

  2. Striking amazing colours Neal, well done. We do get somewhat similar colours here in Copenhagen in autumn for a very very brief time. One has to be really lucky and time it right to get it so I appreciate how hard it is.

  3. Leon says:

    Fantastic, Neal. Where was this taken?

  4. fiziskandarz says:

    whoaaaaa!!! very beautiful panos u got there!! i like! i like! 😀

  5. Thanks Ailsa

    Thanks Flem – Your lucky to have them so close

    Thannks Leon – I’ll check my maps and shoot you an email …

    Thanks fiziskandarz – I rather like your panos as well. Very interesting stuff …

  6. Matt Lauder says:

    probably one of my favorite shots of yours so far Neil. This one would look brilliant printed big on FujiFlex or even Kodak Metallic and popped under lights to make it shine. Those yellows are intense.

  7. Thanks Matt … Yeah I am getting it done as 75 inch in Fuji next week … Would brighten up any room … Harder than I thought to capture when the skies where not overcast and keep the yellows in check … When you see a patch of in these trees in peak fall color its quite amazing, well for an aussie living in dry bush …

  8. truenorthmark says:

    Hey Neal,

    Lovin all the latest posts mate. You have the eye for sure mate….nicely done.

    Cheers,

    Mark

  9. kirkhille says:

    Love the color

  10. Cheers Kirk … Harder than I had envisioned to control as well .. First few attempts kept blowing out different sections

  11. thomasparkes says:

    Great colours Neal, nice even shot.

  12. muzz says:

    Beautiful capture and working – must make any Californian living over here very homesick cos they’re not going to see anything like that unless they go home or buy this print. I bet the texture looks fantastic printed large.

  13. Thanks Muzz for stopping by I am not sure I have had the pleasure of your visit before … This would look sweet on either fuji flex of cotton rag … For my home I am going the cotton rag behind glass …

Leave a Reply

