Karijini National Park

Over the past month or so I have been lucky enough to visit some stunning locations and take a whole new series of landscape images for Spoolphotography.com

My first stop was a few weeks ago at Karijini National Park. Karijini National Park is around 16 hours drive north of Perth, in the heart of the West Australian outback. While I had never been so far north in my home state I was surprised by how many photo opportunities there was on the way too and from Karijini. While I never shot much on the drive up and back as time was not on my side, Karijini National Park sure made up for those lost opportunities.

With its vast open spaces, deep red earth and gum trees, not to mention the stunning gorges and rock pools one could spend a lot of time exploring the area. I surely will be back up there someday.

Here is an image I took on the first evening at the park, taken at dusk on a hot and still evening at Weano Gorge. This image is being printed today and will be on exhibit at Mindarie Keys Hotel from June 1 through August 31st along with 7 other landscape images from myself.

Just had this printed off as a 52 inch x 17 inch on Ilford Hi Gloss Media and it has come up amazing. Very happy with the result.

About Neal Pritchard

TImeless landscape photography prints by Neal Pritchard
This entry was posted in Landscape Images and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Karijini National Park

  1. Luke Austin says:

    Impressive mate. The image has plenty of pop. You’ve done well to draw the viewer in. I hope the Mindarie exhibition goes well.

  2. thomasparkes says:

    Super landscape Neal, well captured, as Luke said, draws the viewer in.

    Beautiful.

  3. Thanks Luke. some new post production methods used thanks to a certain Mr Tony Hewitt …

    Cheers Thomas …

  4. truenorthmark says:

    NIce Neal…I will see if I can find the time to come and see your show!

  5. Cheers Mark … Let me know if you do make it up, I’ll join you for a ginger beer at the bar ….

  6. MatthewSaul says:

    Hi Neal,
    Ive been checking the blog everyday waiting for a shot from your trip!. Loving this one! Ill be sure to make it to mindarie to check out your work
    Cheers, Matt

  7. Neal, I have a vision, of a trip to Mindarie! I’d like to see the other images, this ones cool, the ‘Huey’ has taught you well. Hope the exhibition goes well.

  8. Christian says:

    simply stunning Neal, well done.

  9. Cheers Matthew Saul. yeah I was hoping to have an image up earlier than I did, but life has been pretty hectic the past month and I don’t do any editing on the road, so everything has to wait till I get home … cheers for stopping by and waiting on my first image …. Hope to see you up in Mindarie Keys …

    Cheers Matthew Inman. The full series of images will be up on the blog and website in late June as a whole. I am planning on releasing them under the banner “Karijini Hidden Treasure of Western Australia”

    Cheers Christian, Lots learnt from the likes of yourself, Mr Eastway and Mr Hewitt … Had a ball wish we could do it every month or two …

  10. wayte27 says:

    Hey Neal, Stunning. The lines draw you in and the colour oh the colour.
    Impressive indeed. Cheers Adrian
    Would be great to see your work in Mindarie. Look forward to it!

  11. Cheers Adrian …. Yeah at sunset the color is hard to control being so much red, very easy to blow it out …

  12. Tony Middleton says:

    Cracking image Neal ! Love the balance and composition that is for sure. It was great to finally meet you in person recently and hopefully somewhere in the not too distant future we can hook up again for some sort of shoot somewhere !

    cheers,
    tone (-:

  13. Clint Baker says:

    Very nice work mate!!… suzie is very happy!!…. haha

  14. Cheers Mr Baker …. As long as Suzie is happy, we are all happy πŸ™‚

  15. I like this one a lot Neal, and I love that your first Karajini image is topside – not posting all those gorge shots like everyone else hehe.

    This really says PIlbara to me, red orange dirt, white gum trees, it is a great moody slice of PIlbara!

  16. Cheers Flem. I guess we see the Pilbara the same. I much preferred the the top of the gorges than the on the bottom of the gorges …. I like wide open dramatic landscapes. If I went back I don’t know if I would even venture down next time, for me there is so much more topside …

  17. Amazing, that you see PIlbara like I do -loving the wide open dramatic scapes. Everyone always think I am so odd in not being totally addicted to the gorges but I gotta be honest, all those gorge images all look the same to me πŸ˜€ Topside it is for me as well!

  18. Same, while they are nice in their own right, I preferred being on top … Next time will do a lot more from the top. Now that I have my L-Bracket finally from Really Right Stuff things will be a lot easier

  19. That is an amazing shot, well done. It looks almost like a painting.

  20. Thanks Jodsters for stopping by and having a look at the image and commenting, much appreciated …

    Neal

  21. Bryceworld says:

    That is gorgeous neal, what a cracker!
    The red dirt plus the tree’s are really appealing when you have such nice light coming from the sky, I only had one day at Karanjini and my fav shots are the topside ones as well!
    It’s just starting to warm up here in Cali, I’m at a place called Elisnore, heard of it?
    Cheers
    Bryce

  22. Thanks Bryce … Only 1 day in Karijini must of been a whirlwind trip of Australia for you … Yeah I have heard of it half way between LA and San Diego if I remember correct just off I15 ?

  23. Nice shot Neil. And indeed that “empty spaces” between where we are traveling to are very beautiful in their own right. The journey is as important as the destination eh?

    Cheers
    Dave

  24. Cheers David … Always David, I love to take my time on the way up and back next time …

  25. Andrew Brown says:

    Great capture and processing Neal.

Leave a Reply

