Yosemite’s Half Dome

The Majestic Half Dome

Since a ton of photographer friends are heading to Yosemite the next couple of weeks to catch this years Firetail (I had been told of one report there was over 100 photographers lined up at one vantage point)… I thought I pull an image slated for the new site release later or early next week and post it to the blog …

I only wish there was more technical data available as to Ansel Adams post production methods.

Half Dome inside Yosemite National Park … Truly an awe inspiring American Landscape with photographic opportunities at every turn and view …

Next up a family of Owls living in my backyard ….

About Neal Pritchard

TImeless landscape photography prints by Neal Pritchard
This entry was posted in Landscape Images and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Yosemite’s Half Dome

  1. MatthewSaul says:

    Cool mate, ive just been reading up about the firefall thing. Would be a pretty special thing to see. Not sure I would be to keen on how many people would be there though!

  2. Cheers Matthew … Yeah I’d like to see it one day as well, but the thousands of other photographers there at the same time would not be nice …

  3. Classic timeless feel, I like this one very much Neal. Timeless and majestic, Half Dome is like a monument of time standing still.

    (you really don’t like Silver fx do you hehe 🙂 I don’t use it much either but it’s alright though)

    • Cheers Mr FLembot … Yeah Silver FX really does a hack job with its B&W conversions. I feel images loose a lot of tonal range and the shadows and darker areas of image can be very blotchy after the conversion. I am trying to produce B&W images that have a good tonal range of grey but also depth and I think Silver FX does a pretty bad job with that … I guess I have spent too much time inside Ansel Adams books … Or maybe not enough time.

      Wasn’t that Nick Brant exhibit just insane … Some of the best B&W photography I have seen …

      • Yeah I agree on SilverFX, I do my bw completely manual, blending in several conversions from Lightroom to ensure I retain as many tones as possible.

        Nick Brandt was so aweinspiring it was unreal. Made me want to go to Africa straight away. Also made me want to throw away my camera, sell my soul for a medium format camera 🙂 Interestingly, the panos are actually stitched from two-three shots.

  4. islandimages says:

    Another great image of this American Icon. Peter Lik and Michael Frye have some great images of this area.

    • Thanks Tim … I love Michael Frye’s work and have all his books, he is one of my favorite photographers and the quality of his work is something I aspire to achieve one day with a lot more hard work … I have seen one of Peter Lik’s image from the park that looks damn nice but nothing else from the park, does he have more?

  5. Christian says:

    nice but would look soooo much better if you used silver efex, hahaha

  6. Luke Austin says:

    Great work Neal. Works well as a square

Leave a comment