Esperance Beaches

And now begins the real work. Sorting through thousands of images, working out what stitches with what and processing, looks like over the coming months there will be many new images from my recent trip to Western Australia’s Great Southern coastline.

First up is a 3 image stitch taken with the trusty 70-200mm lens at 200mm f/32. I chose this set of images first because I never shot as high as f/32 and thought what the hell lets just see what happens (there is a series at f/13 just in case)

Esperance has a zillion locations I could shot and thats even before you drive out to Cape Le Grand and beyond. This image was taken at a local beach not far from where we camped the night before. With little or no cloud above us I decided that the only cloud right far on the horizon was all I could really shoot, thus the focal length of 200mm, 300mm would of been sweet but you use the tools you have. I was attempting to capture the island mountain ranges as the backdrop to the pylons and amazing sunrise light that was only on the very edge of the horizon

A Fine Pink Mist (well it was orange I guess, but thats not the song title I was listening to at the time so pink it is) Little stitch error on the left side, how’d I miss that?

3 image stitch

afinepinkmist2

About Neal Pritchard

TImeless landscape photography prints by Neal Pritchard
This entry was posted in Landscape Images and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Esperance Beaches

  1. nice shot Neil.
    very different view.
    i’m not a big fan of the buoy (??) near the middle posts.
    looks quite out of place for me. apart from that i like!

    was great to finally meet you guys too.
    look forward to the rest of your shots you got! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Hi Stephen, not a fan of the Buoy either I think the final version will have it removed. Was cool to finally meet you as well, shame the light at the ranges was a little bland for this trip, but I’ll be going back as soon as the rains start. Will let you know maybe we can hook up again and shoot for a couple of days.

  3. Hi Neal! I find I get terrible diffraction at f/32 on my 70-200 L lens, quite unsharp photos, you didn’t have this problem?

    I like the soft gentle nature of the tones here, very nice dawn feeling to it. I can’t make up my mind about the posts, whether I like them or not. Definitely I think that little red post or whatever it is in the middle should die by cloning ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Thanks Flem, I have never shot at f/32 so it was an experiment thus I processed this first up. I have a series of images at f/13 and also another POV without the posts/pylons. Really not sure what works best, so will end up doing both POV, either way the Buoy has got to die as you put it.

    Been reading up on your blog, living the dream I see, good on ya.

  5. thanks Neal, yeah life not too bad at the moment, 3 months of travelling and photograpy on 3 continents! ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

